Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Finally Changing Over - Software? Controllers? Laptop Needed?

Finally Changing Over - Software? Controllers? Laptop Needed?

I have been using a hard drive media controller for the last 7 or 8 years. It still works well.
    Since then, things in the DJ industry have changed a bunch.

I have stayed with it - as my first ten years or so I did buy many "trends" that never caught on... so I had been staying away from the latest / greatest and actually earning money. Our business is generally with weddings.

But I am re-vamping my whole business... and with that change - was going to convert to a computer style program.
    I had bought a full VirtualDJ License in 2012 at MBLV. Never used it, but I own it.

But now - it seems none of the controllers are natively supporting VDJ. Serato seems to have edged the market.
    And now Pioneer has its own software.

And now there is a trend back to Media Players with no computers.

To say "money is no object" is not the point - but money is not my first concern - just want to get the next investment right.

Beatmixing, energy, and getting in and out of songs is my main focus. Nothing real fancy...
    Would like to use a controller - the large turntables are not what I would use.

Most important to me are - SONG SEARCHING has to be easy and quick with over 65,000 songs.... and beat mixing... the media controller has been very easy in finding songs quickly.

Do I resume using / learning VDJ? Or is VirtualDJ being pushed out of the industry?
    Should I instead go with Serato as the industry is leaning that way? Rekordbox? Should I still include a Laptop computer?

I don't want to invest in something and have no support three years from now... and I really don't want a $100 controller...

Would appreciate your suggestions as I wake up from this 7 year gear hiatus.